Unincorporated Salt Lake County

Logo for Salt Lake County

Welcome Message

Welcome to the Unincorporated Salt Lake County Long Range Planning Page! This page hosts information about current and past planning activities, including projects, plans, visioning, and more. In the panel to the right, you can find contact information for Unincorporated Salt Lake County's long-range planner, as well as quick links to important websites and documents. To the left, explore related pages on General Plans, Current Projects, and Completed Projects. Check back often for updates!

Get Involved 

Do you want to learn more about a project? Do you have a project idea of your own? Or do you want to join a working group or contact list? Please contact your long-range planner. You can also sign-up to receive updates from the MSD by visiting the Notify Me® Webpage.

About Unincorporated Salt Lake County

There are 23 municipalities in Salt Lake County, but outside of those municipalities, 11,454 unincorporated residents find their home. Unincorporated Salt Lake County features extremely diverse lands: the Wasatch Canyons, the southern shore of the Great Salt Lake, the high country areas along the Oquirrh Mountains, residential pockets in Salt Lake City's suburbs, and the Kennecott Copper Mine. Each of these areas has unique planning needs. 

The Unincorporated Areas are governed by the Mayor of Salt Lake County and the Salt Lake County Council. Unincorporated Salt Lake County is also served by two planning Commissions: Salt Lake County Planning Commission and Mountainous Planning District Planning Commission. The unincorporated areas pool resources with the Metro Townships and the Town of Brighton through the Greater Salt Lake Municipal Services District.

Several volunteer community councils are active in the Unincorporated Areas. Reach out to the Association of Community Councils Together (ACCT) to find the community council nearest to you.